The Foundation Board

Foundation Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Foundation. It is comprised of senior medical staff and researchers from St George and Sutherland hospitals, and community and business leaders from St George and the Sutherland Shire.

All Board and Committee appointments are voluntary. The Foundation is most grateful to each appointee for generously donating their time and expertise towards advancing medical research within St George and Sutherland hospitals.

The current Board is:

Board Executive

Cathy Yuncken, Chair

Paul O’Sullivan, Deputy Chair
Chairman, SingTel Optus Pty Limited

Bruce Spaul, Treasurer
Partner, Munro Spaul Accountants

Greg Davis, Secretary
Department of Obstetrics

Michael Grimm. Chair of the Research Committee
Clinical Associate Dean, UNSW

Medical Board Members

Associate Professor Peter Gonski
Associate Professor, Aged Care

Professor Ian Cook
Professor of Gastroenterology

Professor Kate Moore
Professor, Urogynaecology

Associate Professor George Skowronski
Associate Professor, Intensive Care

Community/Business Board Members

Tim Daley
Director, Colin Daley Quinn

Professor Emad El-Omar
Professor of Medicine, St George & Sutherland Clinical School, UNSW

Peter Ridley
Chief Executive Officer, St George Private Hospital

Madeline Tynan
Director, Tynan Motors Limited

Corporate Governance

The St George & Sutherland Medical Research Foundation is a company limited by guarantee with full deductible gift recipient (DGR) status (NSW). The Foundation is governed under the terms of a Constitution that is available upon request from the Foundation Office.

The Foundation Board meets a minimum of four times each year whilst Board Executive meets on a monthly basis. The Foundation’s Annual General Meeting is held each year in June. Additionally, the Directors of the Foundation sit on a small number of Board sub-committees, including – Finance, Audit & Risk, Remuneration and the Research Committee.

The Foundation’s annual audit is undertaken by PWC. The Foundation’s Annual Reports – including the very latest audited accounts – can be downloaded from the About Us section of this site.

Please contact the Foundation Office for further information relating to the governance of the Foundation.